Fly 

When you run away from me, remember that it is your feet that carry you away. 

When you run away from me, remember that I gave you every last morsel of love I had left in my bones for you. And only you. 

My sweet. My child.

When you run away from me, cry as much as you want to on anyone else’s shoulder. For whatever it might be. 

Fall in love with whomever pleases you. But guard your heart well and don’t let it trip into a trap, my sweet. 

For when you run away from me,

Away from the cocoon that I will offer you for eternity, even during my final sleep,

I won’t be there to embrace you and cry for your scars and bruises. 

When you have run away, I can’t see your scars. I can’t even know them. 

When you run away, I will weep and feel my heart breaking. 

When you run away from me, 

With that sense of adventure contained in that one single tear clinging to your eyelids, 

I will release you from the cocoon and you will be outside it, alone. 

But remember, 

When you run away from me.

It is your feet that took you away. 

And when you feel like returning to me, even if it is occasional,

Teach them to turn around and walk back. 

But when you run away from me,

I will say,

Fly away, my sweet butterfly. 

2 thoughts on “Fly 

Leave a Reply

